top of page

Robbie's Hope


 




Where to find Robbie's Hope

Instagram: robbieshope1

Facebook: robbieshope2018

Twitter: @robbieshope1







About Robbie's Hope

KE: We are an organization with the mission of reducing teen suicide rates by 50 percent by 2028. We inspire a movement of student-led activism by creating messaging and tools that promote peer to peer interaction and conversation on teen depression, teen anxiety, and teen suicide. Our approach is preventative in nature and focuses on the enablement of student ambassadors.We are trying to reduce the stigma around teen mental health reminding teens "It's Ok to Not be Ok" and to always have HOPE-Hold on Pain Ends. Robbie's Hope was established in the fall of 2018 after the death of my son Robbie by suicide. Robbie was 15 years old, a successful student and a happy young person with lots of friends. He wasn't on anyone's radar for being at risk for suicide. We quickly learned what an epidemic teen suicide is in our country and decided we wanted to help. Our help is by empowering teens as we feel they have the answers.


 

The Organization


HS: How long has your organization been running?

KE: Since October 12, 2018


HS: What is your Mission Statement?

KE: Deliver programs, Created by Teens, that arrest suicidal thoughts before they occur. Partner to deliver comprehensive measures in the schools and communities.


HS: What was the idea that sparked the creation of your organization?

KE: The death of my 15-year-old son Robbie by suicide


HS: What did the startup of your organization look like?

KE: Grassroots, organic conversations. Asking teens what was different about growing up today and what adults were missing.


HS: What are some of your organization's accomplishments?

KE: Our Adult Handbooks- Robbie's Hope Adult Handbook-A Guide by Teens on How to Talk to Teens and Robbie's Hope Technology Handbook. We have distributed over 100,000 of these handbooks free to parents, teachers, coaches, etc.


HS: What are some of your goals in the upcoming year?

KE: Growing our Ambassador Program which was launched in the fall of 2020. We currently have over 1500 teens across the US engaged in the conversations to further our mission of destigmatizing teen mental health.


HS: How did you manage to gain the following that you have now?

KE: Embracing social media and telling the truth of how our son died. We never strayed from the fact that Robbie's death was suicide. That is hard for people to hear but part of the conversation that needs to be had. Too many teens are dying by suicide. Suicide rates are up over 50 percent in the last three years in my son's age group. Suicide is preventable.


"I am passionate about reducing teen suicide rates in our country. We all have mental health. Mental illness is treatable. Suicide is preventable." - Kari Eckert, Founder of Robbie's Hope


 



The Founder

Kari Eckert








HS: Tell us a bit about yourself

KE: Prior to forming Robbie's Hope I was fortunate to be a stay at home mom to my two children. Prior to raising my children, I was a funeral director so I am no stranger to death and grief. I hold a degree in both psychology and mortuary science.


HS: What was your personal reason for founding this organization?

KE: I think teens deserve better and I don't want other parents to walk in my shoes. Burying a child is beyond a nightmare.


HS: In the early stages, who would you say were the most influential and helped bring your organization to where it is today?

KE: My husband and I were fortunate to have a few key people in helping us navigate the first days of our loss and help us think about what we wanted to do to create change. We knew within hours of Robbie's death that we wanted to do something. At Robbie's memorial service my husband gave the eulogy and he called out on the adults present that we needed to support our teens. Jason and I have given countless hours to our mission but we continue to be inspired by teens that respond and teach us daily. Teens are an amazing group of people who are undersold-they have a voice but just need some help getting their message across.


HS: If you have one, what is your personal experience with mental health

KE: My own grief journey of losing my son....one of the hardest experiences of my life that has changed me and continues to change me. I put a lot of work into being whole and taking care of myself so that I can help others.


HS: If you yourself don't suffer from mental health issues but know someone who does, how do you help them to fight their battles?

KE: I have two ears and one mouth. I try to listen twice as much as I speak. People want to be heard.


"I am grateful for the opportunity to share my story in an effort to help others"
 

Mental Health in Robbie's Hope


HS: What does mental health mean to you & your organization?

KE: Mental health is the same as physical health and should be taught and treated the same-we are one person. We all have mental health.


HS: Why is your company an advocate for mental health?

KE: Teen suicide rates are escalating in much of our country and little is being done- this must be changed.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

KE: By talking about it. It's Ok to Not be Ok and there is always HOPE--hold on pain ends. I picked that word not knowing what it means. Everyone should know the meaning of HOPE. There is always another option to stay alive and end your pain on earth. Suicide is never an option.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

KE: Because it isn't and we are teaching our youth to hide their true feelings. The sooner a negative feeling is addressed the better the outcome for positive change. Feelings are normal-both negative and positive. It's ok to be a human.


HS: What are some things you and your team are working on currently?

KE: Ambassador Program, Hopefull Drive, Hope Contest, legislation in over 10 states directed by youth to include mental health excused absences in the statute.


 

To find resources and ways to help, visit www.robbies-hope.com

bottom of page