top of page

Meet Nimish Gounder


 

Ways to Reach Nimish

Instagram: @niimba13


About Nimish

NG: I think the way I view myself is very unique. I think in life everybody is the main character in their story; however I've never viewed myself that way. I think of myself as the wise old man, that you run into on your quest in a time of need. You talk to them, and they give you a push in the right direction. That's how I've always viewed myself, providing guidance when needed, but always letting people make their own decisions.

 

Writing


HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

NG: I write about love, and getting to know people deeper. I currently have a published book that's available on amazon called "for your eyes". It's a book designed to help you answer your own life's deepest question; and cultivate meaningful relationships with the people around you.


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

NG: I started writing around 15 in an English class. We were asked to describe an object that was meaningful for us, and it was in that lesson where I discovered my affinity for words. I like writing because it allows me to make people feel things. That's always been the goal for me, to make people feel something


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

NG: In terms of writing I think my inspirations are definitely John Green, and Rick Riordan. I think those are two authors that helped shape my ideas on the world, and I'm extremely grateful to them for that. My top 3 books for all time are The book thief, looking for Alaska, and The Alchemist; and my favorite series are both the Percy Jackson, and Heroes of Olympus series.


HS: If you suffer from it, how do you overcome writer’s block?

NG: I just word vomit. I think it's important to just get something down. Whatever it is, free write, get your thoughts out, and make them pretty later. It's also a really good way to figure out what's playing on your mind.


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

NG: The writing you do on the days you don't feel like writing somehow ends up being your best work. It's where you're the rawest, and most genuine.


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

NG: Listen to sad calming songs. Read pretty words, hear people's stories.



HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

NG: Just write, you'll figure out the rest along the way.

 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

NG: I personally have been fortunate enough not to have had to deal with anything personally. I think as a friend though, the most important ability is to just be there. The most important ability is availability. I think just being there without forcing them to do anything is really comforting. Sometimes you don't have to talk about things, but just having someone to be sad with is reassuring.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

NG: I just want people to be able to feel their emotions. I think all too often we feel like we have to push what we feel aside to serve another purpose. I want to end that, I want people to actually process what they feel, and then feel like they have the ability to communicate it. I hope that when they do, they are met with love and acceptance, and any issues become a collaborative effort to resolve.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

NG: By teaching people how to communicate what they feel; and on the flip side to be understanding of how others feel. I'm doing this through my book, and my Tiktok account @4youreyes


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

NG: To reassure people that help is there, if they want/need it.

 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with your or your loved one's mental health struggles?

NG: I normally write about topics that allow people to feel validated in their emotions. I think it has made me feel more aware of my own relationships.


HS: If you personally struggle with your mental health, do you find that writing (about mental health or just in general) helps you cope with it?

NG: I think letting myself be sad for a while before trying to fix anything makes a world of a difference.



bottom of page