top of page

Meet Emdya


 

Ways to Reach Emdya


Instagram: @_emdya_

Email: emdyapermuy11@gmail.com



About Emdya


EP: Hello! I love to wake up early and watch the sunrise while drinking an iced caramel latte. I enjoy reading quotes and listening to podcasts, as well as alternative music! I plan on becoming a Lawyer and Activist when I grow up, but also have a passion for Engineering. I'm 15 years old and have an older sister named Dyem who is 16.

 

Writing


HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

EP: I enjoy writing poems. I don't have any published works as of yet, but I am working on a project that will probably be finished by the end of summer, and it will be uploaded onto my Instagram! I also have a tendency to write short stories that usually pertain to current events.


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

EP: I used to not partake in writing as a hobby of mine, and as a matter of fact, I did not enjoy writing very much. In middle school, I struggled with writing assignments, but my 6th grade Language Arts Teacher inspired me to look into the meanings of specifics works. For example The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe. The thoughtful meanings behind the pieces piqued my interest, and thus I started to want to do the same. I began to express my emotions through writing in 7th grade, and now it has become something I do for fun!


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

EP: I usually become inspired by old yet classic works from writers such as Shakespeare, but I also find inspiration from musicians! Twenty-One Pilots and Cavetown are two of my personal favorites. A poem book I finished recently was "she's strong, but she's tired" by r.h sin. I also enjoy reading books that include themes of Mythology, and Horror books.


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

EP: Inspiration and motivation to write can happen at any time, sometimes even when it is the most inconvenient. Sometimes I am about to go to sleep, then all of a sudden an idea pops into my head and I have to jot it down. Writing also can become frustrating if you are not doing it for the right reasons, so always think past your work and focus on your motives behind doing so.


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

EP: I get into the "mood" of writing, by tapping into what I am feeling. To tap into what I am feeling at that moment, I play music or write down the events going on in the world. However, if I see that I am trying to force myself to write, I usually take a mental break by walking outside or talking to my friends.


HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

EP: When I start writing a new book, I usually first write out what I am trying to accomplish with my writing. Am I writing to encourage a group of people to do something? Am I writing to help others be happy? Once I have that down, I draw down little lines and ideas from that goal, and from there on the possibilities are endless!


HS: Anything else to share?

EP: Sometimes, it is hard to not compare yourself to others when you are focusing on your own work. However, writing is an ongoing experience and can have vastly different effects on each and every person. Therefore, don't focus on becoming a "perfect" writer, focus on being an authentic one!

 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

EP: I went through depression for my entire 8th-grade year, as well as the summer after, and it is to this day the worst thing I have ever gone through. I felt as if there was no way out of this atrocious feeling, and every day was just going so slow. With the help of my friends and family, my beliefs, and exercise, I began to pull myself out of this time period. I was still going through this feeling at the beginning of 9th grade, but school really did help take my mind off of reckless thoughts. I also have had friends who are diagnosed with Depression, and I let them know that I will always be here if they want to talk and that there are many resources out there for them, but for the most part, sometimes giving the people you care about respective time and space is the best you can do for them.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

EP: I want to be the best advocate for mental health that I can possibly be because I never want someone to go through that hopeless feeling I had when I was 13. I also have had friends who were suffering, and I did not treat them the way they should have been treated. I sometimes do live with regret from things I have said in the past out of immature anger, and have contributed to the sufferance of others. I cannot change the past or re-do anything I have said or done, but I make the vow to fix my ways and treat every single person with kindness and love, despite all my immature thoughts and tendencies. I make mistakes sometimes, but I want to have a positive impact with every person I come in contact with now and encourage others to do the same!


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

EP: I try to end the stigma of mental health, by working on becoming more extroverted and more of a leader, and this is to be able to speak to as many people about mental health as I can. I also read about people's day-to-day life with their mental health struggles, in order to put myself in the perspective of others. I occasionally make templates and informative images about different disorders, as well as encourage my friends to take part.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

EP: Mental health should be talked about within the community, as it is a struggle that so many people go through. Your best friend, relative, classmate, co-worker, and friend may be struggling but are too scared to open up about it due to the stigma we put around these topics. Are they sometimes uncomfortable conversations? Yes, but that also means that it is probably a conversation that should be in place. The lives lost by suicide are way too many, and everyone as a community can lower the rate substantially if we all play our part.


HS: Anything else to share?

EP: You are not weak for being depressed. You deserve to live, even when you feel as if your life has no purpose. You are important, and you are strong, even when it feels like you are just hanging on to a thread, and you are not self-absorbed for speaking out on your emotions, you're brave for that.

 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with your or your loved one's mental health struggles?

EP: I do write about topics related to mental health and my own thoughts on this topic, and it really does help vent out any bottled-up emotions. Writing can be a way to cope with very strong feelings, and I do have a major problem because I tend to act from impulses when I am upset. Therefore, writing slows me down and helps me reassess my actions.


HS: Does your or your loved one's mental health get in the way of your writing? If so, how?

EP: My mental health can get in the way of my writing if it is a long-term project such as a book. Sometimes I may plan on writing a chapter on positivity and motivation, but if I am not in the right mindset then it can feel very forced and not genuine.


bottom of page