top of page

Meet Gabby


 

Ways to Reach Gabby


Instagram: @gabby_hicks_0904 &

@thoughtswide_open



About Gabby


GH: I’m a youth advocate, I paint, I play both bass guitar and acoustic, I’m a poet. I often make petitions, I play volleyball. I do some modeling. I’m very interested in women’s rallies. I do some volunteering and my dream is to write a book and become a youth ambassador, and maybe a professional model!









 

Writing


HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

GH: I do poetry, If this counts I post daily DBT skills and poems on my main Instagram story. I do not have a link at the moment the genre is mostly vintage art behind the photos.


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

GH: It was very therapeutic, I started writing a few months back (9) I feel when you’re posting something from yourself it really shows how comfortable you are with Vulnerability, plus I like to keep it real. I want my followers to know that we’re in this together. Trust is everything.


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

GH: Genres would be scary, coming of age, and mental health books. So anything about EDS, sexual assault, anxiety depression, PTSD, etc.


HS: How do you overcome writer's block?

GH: I stopped putting so much pressure on myself, I know that my writing will be helpful to someone and that’s what matters to me, before I write I make sure I’m comfortable and give myself a mental check. I make some tea, turn on some music and just write about different topics.


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

GH: As I said, don’t put so much pressure on yourself! Stay true to yourself and get plenty of sleep, you write better when you’re refreshed.


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

GH: I drink some tea, I take a shower, I even go out with friends! It really helps to keep your head straight. I also meditate and turn on some music.


HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

GH: Meditate, meditate, meditate again. (MENTAL HEALTH CHECKS BEFORE TOO!)


HS: Briefly tell us about your works

GH: Well I’m working on a short one about my experience of sexual assault, but it’s just poems for now! I have 2 called “music poem” where I took a few lyrics from songs that helped me in times of need but make it my own. Like I will talk to *that* person about how much they hurt me but I will also add inspo. I recently added to my story one about my Journey in youth advocacy. It’s called “my journey”


 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

GH: Anxiety/depression runs through my family, I knew I would most likely have it but it was very very hard when I did end up having both, I was taken to the doctor for my anxiety when I was 7 then again when I was 12. (I was diagnosed both times). The same year I was 12, they said I have clinical depression. It was very hard for me at first because I felt I was an outcast for taking medication. The support of my family got me through with the help of music. Just this year I was diagnosed with PTSD, I took that kinda hard... I knew I had a very rough childhood but I didn’t know it was PTSD bad. Soon I found youth advocacy and fell in love immediately. I felt I had found an amazing group of people that struggle the same I do. I also felt really good knowing I could help others along the way.


HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use?

GH: I go to therapy every week. It’s been so so helpful and I can’t thank my therapist enough, I also meditate. Paint, listen to music, go out with friends, youth advocacy, drink tea and write. (And of course my medication)


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

GH: I know the feeling of not knowing where to turn, I know the feeling of dreading getting out of bed. I want to show others my story and help others get through times of need. So many people often need someone but don’t know how to ask for help, being an advocate for me is absolutely amazing, though it can be really hard seeing some struggles people have, I love knowing that I made someone’s day better just by asking how they are, that can mean the world to some people.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

GH: I aim to break the stigma by sharing my own experiences like my writing, poems, showing vulnerability. I plan to fight hard to help others to be comfortable enough to show their story’s and prove to people that mental illness does not mean being weak for faking it. I hope to come together and fight for others.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

GH: Because a lot of the time people don’t feel excepted, some people feel like they will be judged or seen as “insane” if they open up about experiences. I talk about my mental health as a way to say “don’t worry, I get you and I hear you.” We need to make talking about mental health normal.

Always remember you're loved.
 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with your or your loved one's mental health struggles?

GH: I do almost every day online and in real life. I’m not afraid to show my friends when I’m in a dark place, sharing my experiences makes me feel excepted, the way it helps me heal is because I know that group of people understand. It’s like therapy without going to therapy haha, my family also deals with anxiety and depression and I feel like I’m honoring them by trying to make mental illness nothing to be ashamed of.


HS: If you personally struggle with your mental health, do you find that writing (about mental health or just in general) helps you cope with it?

GH: 100%. I find writing to be a way of therapy to me, mental health awareness too. Whenever I have a bad day I grab my laptop, start writing, and I post some DBT skills, it makes me feel excepted, and helping others makes me feel better.


HS: Does your or your loved one's mental health get in the way of your writing? If so, how?

GH: If my little sister counts lol! But when it comes to my older fam, absolutely not! They are the most supportive people I know ask to tell me when to take a mental health break even when I know I should but don’t want to.

 

Her Work


Title

My Journey on Youth Advocacy


Summary

I would like to share my story, this is very important to me and I’m honored to have this opportunity even though this will not be published for a while, I’m still very happy to be doing this


HS: What was the inspiration for writing this book?

GH: Lily Cornell silver. I absolutely adore what she does.


HS: When did you start writing this story?

GH: December 23rd.


HS: Why did you write this story?

GH: Because once I publish it, I feel like I did not just me, but to show others that you CAN do anything you put your mind to.


HS: What are some of your goals for this book?

GH: To shine a light on mental health and the pros and cons of going through the phases of mental health.


HS: What are some of your accomplishments for this book?

GH: I feel very accomplished. I’ve only shown my family and knowing that they loved it made me feel amazing,

bottom of page