top of page

Meet M Quinn


 



Ways to Reach M Quinn

Instagram: @mquinns

Tiktok: @mquinns



About M Quinn


MQ: I'm sixteen, an honors student, a twin, and I want to major in environmental science. I also volunteer a lot and went through a long fan phase.






 

Writing

HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

MQ: YA science fiction nowhere but I'm working on it


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

MQ: As a kid, I wrote because I liked it. My major WIP came because I felt voiceless and thought it was the story I needed to tell. I want to be an activist, and writing is how I'm able to be heard, because people don't listen to normal kids and I can't sing or act (an actual concrete thought I had in ninth grade) I also wanted to do something long term and involved, and I cared about my own characters pretty quickly.


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

MQ: I'm inspired by nearly everything, my absolute favorite genre is sci-fi short stories, and I can't pick a favorite book but I've been saying Hitchikers guide to the galaxy if I'm asked ( I like the story behind its creation)



HS: How do you overcome writer's block?

MQ: I constantly have scenes playing out in my head, but when I cant actually get myself motivated to write, I use Pinterest for the characters or do something related to the story that isn't the plot itself (alien alphabet, field guide, character sheet, etc)


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

MQ: There is no set way to be a writer


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

MQ: It actually happens pretty randomly. I wrote a third of my novel on looseleaf in class because I suddenly wanted to write.


HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

MQ: Outlining! My father is a Filmmaker, and he tried to support my writing by teaching me screenwriting, which starts with "Who is the main character, what do they want, what's stopping them"


HS: Briefly tell us about your works

MQ: It's YA science fiction that focuses on found family, accurate teenage experiences, casual rep, and realistic activism along with some action.


HS: Anything else to share?

MQ: I really appreciate anyone who's reading this

 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

MQ: Diagnosis has been complicated, with a lack of online therapy and, honestly, me going back and forth on whether I'm avoiding an actual name or not. However, I did struggle with self-harm in middle school and have had social anxiety issues since before that (I'm not good at socializing, and fear grew out of that). I was doing CBT in tenth grade for panic attacks (although my first came in the summer before fifth), which range from "You're going to die" with hands shaking and too much stuttering to talk, to some heart palpitations and heatwaves. I actively sought out names for anxiety and panic attacks, because I wanted to know what was wrong


HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use?

MQ: I often struggle with deep feelings of inadequacy and hopelessness, which I deal with by making lists and writing down what I've done or have to do, and crossing it all off. It helps me appreciate it. I also talk a lot to my dad, who is very rational and helps talk me off irrational fear. I also have some other habits and patterns that I do without thinking. However, I'm really not dealing with it that well right now, to be honest.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

MQ: A big issue for me was feeling like I was weird and alone, and I want to keep other people from feeling like that


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

MQ: Actually a lot of that is in my writing! I depict accurate panic attacks and mental health struggles that aren't romanticized or dramatized or discarded, and especially aren't the focus of the story. They're just there.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

MQ: Same reason as before. The worst part of struggling, for me, was feeling that I was different and alone. If mental health information is shared and discussed openly, that can be avoided.


 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with your or your loved one's mental health struggles?

MQ: No, because I use it often as an escape from issues having to do with mental health.


HS: If you personally struggle with your mental health, do you find that writing (about mental health or just in general) helps you cope with it?

MQ: Yes, it's been a major coping mechanism for me through high school, which would have been a lot harder without the long term promise of trying to finish a book, or just the fun and safety of creating


HS: Does your or your loved one's mental health get in the way of your writing? If so, how?

MQ: It has contributed a lot to the days where I can't write, and has definitely hindered the process of querying agents

 

Her Work


Title

The Call


Summary

As humanity has spread across the stars, they have settled on dozens of planets. This includes Janus, home of the first alien species with human-level intelligence. Unfortunately, they are still in their “stone age” phase and are weak against exploitation by stronger forces. 19-year-old Arthur Keene is ready to face near-impossible odds to stop this abuse of the aliens that saved his life. Unfortunately, those rising against him include a metal-faced messenger, corrupt government officials, and his own father.


HS: What was the inspiration for writing this book?

MQ: Science fiction is, in my experience, not written for young people. I know that young people want to read it, but they are stuck between juvenile chapter books and dense novels that contain deep scientific understanding and adult life experiences. Seeing this, I decided to write the kind of book that I, as a young adult reader, wanted to read. I also wanted to make a voice for myself that talked about the things I cared about, and to create characters that I needed to see Most young adult fiction is written by adults who, while skilled, do not have the mindset or point of view that their audience is looking for. It also shows non-cliche representations of varying sexual and gender identities, as well as racial backgrounds, and the experiences of characters that struggle mentally and physically, but are not defined by those mental or physical struggles. One of the most important of these factors is the social and political activism that reflects the truth and interests of this generation. We want to see people feeling how we feel, and approaching change in a realistic and exciting way.


HS: When did you start writing this story?

MQ: September 2018


HS: Why did you write this story?

MQ: I needed to feel like I was doing something to change the world around me.


HS: What are some of your goals for this book?

MQ: To get it published and for it to reach the people that need it. (A film adaptation would be nice, though)


HS: What are some of your accomplishments for this book?

MQ: Finishing and editing it!


HS: Anything else to share?

MQ: Part two of the story is already written, and though the duo can stand alone, the third book is outlined and there is potential for both prequels and sequels. I also really believe that there is a demand for this kind of story and that this book can open up a world of science fiction to young adult readers.

bottom of page