top of page

Mental State Foundation


 


Where to Find Mental State Foundation


Instagram: @mentalstatefoundation


Facebook: @mentalstatefoundation





About Mental State Foundation


VD: Mental State Foundation was created during the pandemic. We are working toward creating scholarships for people who want to provide quality care in the mental health field. We are also working toward creating grants for art and music classes for people who live with mental illness or work in the mental health field. Currently, we are focusing on psychoeducation, community building, and fighting stigma.

 

The Organization


HS: How long has your organization been running?

VD: Since November of 2020.


HS: What is your Mission Statement?

VD: Mental State Foundation is dedicated to empowering and supporting others in achieving a more balanced Mental State and making a positive impact in the mental health field.


HS: What was the idea that sparked the creation of your organization?

VD: The idea for the nonprofit started when I was in college. I thought of starting a Zine called Mental State where people with mental illness contribute their writing and art. I also wanted to give back to the community through scholarships and grants in the arts. That idea evolved over the years and I continued to work in the mental health field. Now we have a nonprofit that is working toward creating scholarships and grants in the arts for people living with mental illness or mental health professionals. As a therapist, I understand the risk of burnout and the importance of quality care. As a person living with mental illness, I understand the challenges that arise. I truly believe that mental health professionals and people living with mental illness are in this together.


HS: What did the startup of your organization look like?

VD: Starting this nonprofit would not have been possible without the help of our fantastic board of directors and volunteers. Marissa Pacheco is our Vice President and leads our events, Kristine Diaz is our Secretary and leads our marketing and social media, Abby Ambriz is our Treasurer and leads our Finance Committee, Carolina Rodriguez is our Outreach Coordinator and Cristian Zambrano is our Social Media volunteer.


HS: What are some of your organization's accomplishments?

VD: So far, Mental State Foundation has been able to provide psychoeducation and community building through our Social Media and Outreach. We work toward reducing stigma and normalizing the human experience.


HS: What are some of your goals in the upcoming year?

VD: Our goal for this year is to raise enough money to start our Scholarships for Future Mental Health Professionals and Grants for the Arts Programs.


HS: How did you manage to gain the following that you have now?

VD: I feel that people resonate with our message and what we want to accomplish with this nonprofit. We receive support through individual donations and events.

If you'd like to support our cause, you can reach out to us on our social media. We are also super grateful for any donations that will help us reach our goal of providing our scholarships and grants. You can donate on our website mentalstatefoundation.org

 






The Founder:

Vannia Duran





HS: Tell us a bit about yourself.

VD: My name is Vannia Duran. I am a musician, artist, therapist, and writer. I sing for a Progressive Metal Band called Eridia. I love painting portraits, writing lyrics and short stories, playing with ceramics, just anything art-related. I have been working in the Mental Health and Disability Fields for 8 years and I absolutely love it.


HS: What was your personal reason for founding this organization?

VD: I was thinking about what I felt helped me with my own mental illness. Number one, family and friends were critical. But so was quality mental health care. I still remember my first therapist and psychiatrist and they made me feel heard and they helped me navigate my symptoms. On top of that, art and music have been my main coping skills. So I hope that this nonprofit will help people with their coping skills as well as help support quality mental health professionals.


HS: In the early stages, who would you say were the most influential and helped bring your organization to where it is today?

VD: I have an amazing team! Marissa Pacheco, Kristine Diaz, Abby Ambriz, Carolina Rodriguez, and Cristian Zambrano. They all have heart, leadership skills, passion, and I'm so grateful that they are donating their time to this cause. We also have amazing family and friends who have donated to the nonprofit. I appreciate the support with all my heart.


HS: If you have one, what is your personal experience with mental health?

VD: As a child, I had symptoms of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. That kind of waxed and waned throughout my life. I had different obsessions during different times (religious OCD, Harm OCD, etc.). I still live with this, but it is more manageable. I was also first diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder when I was in college. I had crying spells, unable to get out of bed, terrible paranoia, hypomania. It was a very dark time. I use a lot of Cognitive Behavioral techniques now with myself when my paranoia starts acting up. I don't believe it right away anymore and am able to challenge these thoughts. I also take medication for my moods and that has been very helpful.


HS: If you yourself don't suffer from mental health issues but know someone who does, how do you help them to fight their battles?

VD: My family and friends were so supportive. I feel that made a big difference. Shout out to my fiancee Jose, my sister Marissa, my mom, my friends Jessica, Eric, and Jeremy. For those who have a friend or family member living with mental illness, your support is important. Also know, that sometimes it's hard for the person you love to see that something's wrong. For example, I've stopped taking my medication many times for different reasons, I thought my paranoid thoughts were true, I believed my negative thoughts. I didn't see them for what they were. Sometimes you take a few steps back before you can jump forward, and I know that was hard for my friends and family to see.

Please follow our social media @mentalstatefoundation on Instagram and Facebook. If you feel it in your heart, we would appreciate any donation as well. You can donate at mentalstatefoundation.org Thank you for taking the time to learn about our organization!

 

Mental Health in Mental State Foundation


HS: What does mental health mean to you & your organization?

VD: Mental health means caring for ourselves by knowing and using our coping skills, reaching out for help when needed, and trying not to judge our feelings. Of course, there is so much more, but this is what jumps out at me at the moment.


HS: Why is your organization an advocate for mental health?

VD: Our organization is an advocate for mental health because we understand that the stigma of mental illness stops people from accepting their own mental illness or stops them from reaching out for help. We hope to create opportunities for quality future mental health professionals to help people navigate these struggles. We also hope to provide art and music classes for those who wish to utilize the arts as a coping skill and a source of self-efficacy.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

VD: We are trying to end the stigma of mental health because stigma stops people from accepting their own mental illnesses which stops people from reaching out for help, stops them from using coping skills, etc. The best thing I did for my mental health was to accept that I had a mental illness. I used to cry that I took medication because then that meant "Something was wrong with me." But I fought this internalized stigma and now I can make health decisions without self-judgment being a factor.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

VD: Our communities should talk about mental health so that people can realize how common it is and start treating mental illnesses the same as we treat physical illnesses.


HS: What are other resources you have used to learn more about or support mental health?

VD: I'm a huge fan of The Honest Guys on Youtube and use them to sleep or meditate. Art, music, ceramics, and writing have been great. Listening to music is helpful, my current favorite band is the Progressive Metal band Caligula's Horse. Or if I'm feeling angry, I'll listen to Decapitated. I used to volunteer for National Alliance on Mental Illness, and they have a lot of great resources as well.


HS: What are some things you and your team are working on currently?

VD: We are currently working on starting our Scholarship Program and Grants for the Arts. We are collecting donations to make this happen.

bottom of page