top of page

Meet Ruby



Ways to Reach Ruby

Instagram & Wattpad: @northofatlantis


About Ruby

R: I'm in love with films, books, and writing <3 that's literally all I'm obsessed with hahaha.






Writing


HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

R: The book I'm writing at the moment is romance and that's the main genre I do, followed up by teen fiction. My works (when published, which is soon) can be found here: https://www.wattpad.com/user/northofatlantis.


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

R: The reason I started writing was because I loved reading so much, my parent's held a restriction on how much technology I would have so I'd read when I couldn't have my iPad. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, my imagination was wild when I was younger so I channeled all of that into writing.


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

R: My top three genres are romance, fantasy, and teen fiction and my inspirations are Anna Todd, Jane Austen, and Cassandra Clare.


HS: If you suffer from it, how do you overcome writer's block?

R: I take a break, if I force myself to write during writer's block my writing is terrible hahaha. During this break, I'll read as it helps me get my inspiration back.


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

R: Make every word and chapter have a reason for being in your book, don't write something that doesn't contribute to the development or storyline.


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

R: I have a playlist of songs that suit the story, I listen to it for a while before I begin to write.


HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

R: Making a Pinterest board!! Pinterest boards help me so much when picturing the characters, what they're like along with what their relationships with others are like. Plus they're fun to make :)


HS: Briefly tell us about your book if you have one.

R: Kissing Daffodils, it's inspired by Jim and Pam's story from The Office and will be published this month! :)

 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience

R: I have never been diagnosed with a mental illness, although I was in a depressive state at the beginning of the year that I'd like to share so others don't go down the same path I did. At the end of last year, I had an old 'friend' want to harm me with a knife and then themselves at school, thankfully the situation never happened as they were caught with the weapon. However, I didn't know a month later when two cops showed up at my door. My thoughts on this would change like crazy at the start, I'd blame myself, then them, then myself again. When I returned to school, I didn't feel safe and it felt like the school had to support me, rather than wanting to support me. Then a few of my old friends in my friend group started to leave the rest of us out, two of my closest friends were a part of that group. So I started to feel left out and started reflecting on myself and the group's past actions, I started to hate myself and realise that the group itself is toxic. I didn't like who I was and began to constantly tell myself how pathetic I was. I was able to see where this could possibly go and tried to immediately stop it, I left the group. But I wanted to stay friends with some of them, so I did. I'd only said that they were toxic but one of them said how apparently I said other stuff which was not true. Then, the three of the small group began to pretty much cyberbully me. I thought I did something terribly wrong and criticised myself even more. I feel and couldn't get back up, I hated that feeling and wanted to try and get better. But they were restricting me from doing that. Thankfully, they stopped and apparently moved on. I can say now I am definitely better, still, go into the criticised state from time to time but I'm happier than I was. I just want people to see my story and make sure they look at the people around them and stop the relationship before it gets worse.

HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use (i.e. meditation, talk therapy, medication, etc.)?

R: When I do start slipping into my criticised state, go on an app called Sayana or watch animated shows and films :)


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

R: I want to show people that getting help is okay, I'm blessed to have a mother who taught me this at a young age but sadly there are others who aren't told this and a few are told to grow up or that they're overreacting.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

R: Defiantly by spreading more awareness and doing that constantly is the way to break the stigma.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

R: We're lucky enough to be born in a time where awareness is a big thing and people are starting to educate themselves rather than listening to society's opinion. Back in the old days, as they say, mental health was seen as crazy and that you can't be helped. This thought has been taken to today but people are starting to see that this isn't true at all, and this is because people are bringing awareness to it. Awareness is key!!

 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with you or your loved one's mental health struggles?

R: I try my best too, I only write about mental health if I plan for a character to have a particular mental illness and if it contributes to the story. I have a story with a character who has anxiety, and with the research, I've been doing so far, it makes me reflect on the loved ones who do have anxiety. It breaks my heart that they feel this way and I hate that they do.

HS: If you personally struggle with your mental health, do you find that writing (about mental health or just in general) helps you cope with it?

R: Definitely, when I was in my depressive state, a began to write a character just like me with a similar issue. It helped me get through it as I made sure the character stayed strong and to push through it, which is exactly what I did.

HS: Does your or your loved one's mental health get in the way of your writing? If so, how?

R: Not usually, sometimes though, only because I haven't experienced it myself and I'm worried I'll write it wrong or portray it in the wrong way.


bottom of page