top of page

Meet Dr. Harshika Pareek


Where to Find Dr. Harshika Pareek


Email: drharshikapsychology@gmail.com Instagram: @counselors_chair


About Dr. Harshika Pareek


HP: I am Dr. Harshika Pareek, a counseling psychologist from India. I am an educator also where I teach Grad students Psychology. I take clients, especially adolescents and young adults dealing with issues like depression, anxiety, loneliness & an array of mental health issues. I have always been the topper of my class since school till post-grad. I am also a mental health advocate. I reach out to people through my official Instagram page counselors_chair by spreading awareness in regards to mental health. I conduct sessions with psychologists & therapists across the globe. I also conduct workshops & sessions with students and Ph.D. scholars. I love to write and express myself through that medium. I have done training in hypnotic healing & I am getting trained in Art Therapy also.


 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

HP: I experienced panic attacks & severe anxiety when I lost my father. I used to go through phases of loneliness and used to remain anxious for days. It was difficult to handle that feeling & at times it felt like I am going to die.


HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use?

HP: Art therapy helped me deal with my anxiety & feelings of loneliness.


HS: What does mental health mean to you?

HP: An important part of human survival. Majority of times more important than physical health. But still, due to stigma, we lack awareness in this aspect.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

HP: I am a psychologist and a writer.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

HP: By spreading awareness, doing workshops, sessions with other therapists on Instagram to connect with people of all ages & professions.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

HP: As I said, due to stigma mental health is still a taboo which makes it difficult for many people to accept help or reach out for help. And all the more suicide rates are increasing post covid. And we are constantly in a state of survival mode where loneliness, depression & anxiety have become pandemic also.


HS: What are other resources you use to learn more about mental health?

HP: I learn by interacting with other therapists, watching interviews, reading books, and talking to survivors of mental health issues.


HS: If you yourself don't suffer from mental health issues but know someone who does, how do you help them to fight their battles?

HP: I provide counseling, therapy, and empathetic listening.


bottom of page