top of page

Meet Emma-Lucy


 



Ways to Reach Emma-Lucy


Contact her through her website: https://emma-lucy-thomson.net



About Emma-Lucy

EL: I study law undergraduate at the open university. Own two cats. Run diary of a painfully shy introvert blog. I lost my son to adoption at 14 months old. He was taken into care at 8 weeks. The authorities gave me a hard time which resulted in the failure of being a mother. I was diagnosed with a form of autism at 16. Labeled a criminal under the harassment laws and as a result, was sectioned. Later in life, I was sent to prison. I’ve never worked because my record has held me back. I like creative arts activities. I used to sing at karaoke etc. I walk a lot. I’m now 33. I have depression and stay single to try to not get hurt. I passed my driving test the first time when I was 17.

 

Writing


HS: What type of writing do you do? Do you have any published works?

EL: Blogging mostly. I previously self published an autobiographical book about my experiences growing up as a female autistic, Tortured Soul: A female aspies story. I occasionally have submitted stories to anthology collections but not often.


HS: Why did you start writing? When did you start writing?

EL: I used to communicate in written form because I felt more comfortable that way growing up. I have written things since a young child as soon as I knew how to read and write. It started as a form of communication but developed into a journalism style.


HS: Who are your inspirations? What are your favorite books/genres?

EL: I don’t have inspirations... merely unleash my inner thoughts/imagination into the world via written words.

HS: How do you overcome writer's block?

EL: I don’t write unless I am feeling inspired or not tired.


HS: What do you wish someone had told you about writing?

EL: That it would get me into trouble using it as a form of communication because the world provides verbal.


HS: How do you get into the "mood" of writing?

EL: I need to either feel irritated or passionate about a topic.


HS: When starting a new book, what are your first steps?

EL: I just write what comes into my head and sort it out later.


HS: Briefly tell us about your works

EL: Tortured Soul: A Female Aspies Story, limited copies still available via Amazon and other second-hand book outlets. Preview on google. Covering my life from when I was born to my early 20s (part 1)


HS: Anything else to share?

EL: Mental health and support services destroyed my life as an autistic woman rather than making anything better for me.

 

Mental Health


HS: Describe your mental health experience.

EL: I was suspected of being some form of special needs at school. I was constantly excluded from year 8 of secondary school due to the way that I communicated. I tried to make friends with the teaching staff rather than students which made me weird because it wasn’t seen as the norm. I attended the child and adolescents mental health service for many years. I left school with no qualifications because of being constantly excluded throughout my GCSE years. I wouldn’t have been diagnosed at 16 if my parents hadn’t written to the local MP. He got an out of area forensic mental health team to come to see me and they proceeded to diagnose me with Asperger Syndrome. Despite my diagnosis, I was subsequently sectioned, labelled a criminal and punished for things I couldn’t help. I even later ended up in prison after my support services called me too complex and abandoned me.


HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use?

EL: Anti-depressants, been on many different ones over the years. I walk to deal with mental frustration.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

EL: Quite frankly, I got extremely irritated about going round in circles and being trapped in a life that never progressed due to society's judgment and opportunities being subsequently taken away due to the wide spread perceptions of mental health, autism etc.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

EL: The blog, giving interviews, entering art into exhibitions being open that I have a form of autism. Reaching out to all varieties of the public on a daily basis. Getting involved in campaigns to amend the laws. Helping that area by obtaining a law degree part-time.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

EL: There are far too many assumptions in society that are completely incorrect. We won’t ever get the appropriate support until people understand correctly.

 

Mental Health In Writing


HS: Do you generally write about topics related to mental health? If so, how does this form of expression affect your ability to deal with your or your loved one's mental health struggles?

EL: I do cover mental health-related topics on the blog but not constantly because it gets far too much.


HS: If you personally struggle with your mental health, do you find that writing (about mental health or just in general) helps you cope with it?

EL: I can let my anger out.


HS: Does your or your loved one's mental health get in the way of your writing? If so, how?

EL: I feel tired a lot and if I have other things to do which are important I have to prioritize those instead.

HS: Anything else to share?

EL: The U.K. mental health system is horrendous.

 

Her Work


Title

Diary of a Painfully Shy Introvert


Summary

I run the blog as an ebook because it’s easier to write as I can update it constantly on a daily basis. I discuss my life living (well trying to) live as an autistic woman. I cover all the neurotypical things that just don’t make sense to us alongside aspects of my daily life.


Link to story


HS: What was the inspiration for writing this book?

EL: Life being so different for me as an autistic person versus neurotypical existence.


HS: When did you start writing this story?

EL: 2016


HS: Why did you write this story?

EL: We want a life just like neurotypicals take for granted.


HS: What are some of your goals for this book?

EL: Change attitudes, open people’s eyes to the discrimination and assumptions we face.


HS: What are some of your accomplishments for this book?

EL: The fact that it hasn’t got taken offline yet.



bottom of page