top of page

Meet Annabel


 





Where to Find Annabel


Tik Tok and Instagram: @itscondie


About Annabel


A: Hi!! My name is Annabel, and I’m a High School senior in Wisconsin. I’m a mental health and LGBTQ advocate (or at least I try my best to be, lol)





 

Mental Health

HS: Describe your mental health experience.

A: I was diagnosed with OCD when I was around nine years old. I honestly don’t think I even really knew it wasn’t “normal” to be affected by it, I was too young to know any different.


HS: If you yourself suffer from a mental illness, how do you deal with it each day? What are some of the methods you use (i.e. meditation, talk therapy, medication, etc.)?

A: My mental health has DRASTICALLY improved, so there hasn’t been much to “deal with” lately. This is all thanks to medication and therapy lol. Otherwise, lots of deep breaths, yoga, and staying involved in a sport.


HS: What does mental health mean to you?

A: Mental health means getting to live my life. It means taking control over my thoughts and emotions instead of allowing them to take over me.


HS: Why are you or why do you want to be an advocate for mental health?

A: I feel like the media only wants to de-stigmatize illnesses and symptoms that can they can make look “pretty.” For example, anxiety is the shy girl with the cute little mannerisms and depression has been romanticized as this cool-angsty-teen thing, even though it’s NOT true!! Then when it comes to lesser talked about illnesses or symptoms such as intrusive thoughts, tics, poor hygiene, etc the media pays it little attention because it isn’t “pretty.” I want to advocate for mental health because it isn’t pretty and our realities should be seen as they are, not through a filter.


HS: How are you trying to end the stigma of mental health?

A: I’m completely honest; sometimes I’m still incredibly embarrassed by my mental illnesses. I have three other diagnoses that I haven’t even shared in this interview BECAUSE I still have unlearning to do around stigma, and that’s okay. I stay honest about this and do my best to break the stigma from the inside so that I can better advocate out in the open.


HS: Why should mental health be talked about within the community?

A: Mental health should be talked about so that others can get the help they need. It’s SO important to share our stories and reach out when we need to, and the only way people will feel comfortable enough to do so is when they feel UNDERSTOOD.


HS: What are other resources you use to learn more about mental health?

A: Therapy!! I’ve learned so much about mental health in therapy.

bottom of page